Palin
(pay-lin). From the Greek, pathos, the Greek root for suffering. (See also pathetic).

Palin
v.

1. To attempt to impress another by feigning knowledge.

Example: “I didn’t study for that Poli Sci essay test and had to totally palin it. But the prof saw that I was clueless and I got a D+.”

2. To be fooled by another’s superficial qualities.

Example: “I met this really hot guy at a party, but he palined me when he said he was a doctor. I learned after we hooked up that he was a clerk at Walgreen’s.”

3. To promote an unqualified person to a prestigious or challenging position.

Example: “That guy in the mailroom married the CEO’s daughter and got palined to assistant VP for sales. But he got fired after six months because he couldn’t palin his customers.”

4. To deny or distort reality in spite of indisputable evidence.

Example: “Even though my sister got convicted of shoplifting, she palined and told everybody that the judge found her innocent.”

n.

A superficially attractive person or object that turns out to be disappointing.

Example: “My last car was a real palin. It really looked good when I first saw it in the showroom, but it turned out to be noisy, uncomfortable, and unreliable. You never knew what was going to go wrong next.”

Palinize
v.

1. To exaggerate or embellish one’s qualifications, knowledge or experience.

Example: “I thought I didn’t have a chance at the job as sales manager, but after I palinized my resume they hired me on the spot and said I had a great future in the company.”

2. To castigate or accuse another person by implying guilt using vague or unreliable evidence.

Example: “My girlfriend palinized me after that party. She said I was flirting with a woman but admitted she didn’t really see it, but her girlfriend did, and then it turned out her girlfriend wasn’t even there until after we left.”

